At Moat House we follow the Early Years Foundation Stage (EYFS) curriculum. This is a framework that explains how and what your child will be learning to support their healthy development.

The Early Years Foundation Stage sets the standards that nurseries must meet to ensure that children develop, learn well and are kept healthy and safe. The skills, ability and knowledge that a child is likely to learn in the vital years between birth and five are divided into seven areas of Learning and Development.

This includes 3 prime areas:

Personal, Social and Emotional Development

Physical Development

Communication and Language



There are also 4 specific areas:

  • Mathematics
  • Literacy
  • Expressive Arts and Design
  • Understanding the World

Your child will be learning and developing new skills. Nursery staff support your child’s learning and development.